Federal Reserve Bank History

The Federal Reserve System, created by the Federal Reserve Act in 1913, consists of a Board of Governors with headquarters in Washington, D.C. and twelve regional Reserve Banks located in major cities throughout the United States. This collection highlights materials on the individual histories of the 12 Federal Reserve Banks.