View original document

The full text on this page is automatically extracted from the file linked above and may contain errors and inconsistencies.

Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee
801 Ninth Street, NW, Washington, DC 20220


Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee
Public Meeting
Thursday, November 12, 2009, 2 PM
United States Mint Headquarters
801 9th Street, NW, 8th Floor
Washington, DC 20001
In attendance:
Michael Brown (via telephone)
Roger Burdette
Arthur Houghton
Gary Marks
Rick Meier
Michael Olson
Mitch Sanders (Member Liaison)
Donald Scarinci
Joe Winter (via telephone)
1. The member liaison called the meeting to order at 2:00.
2. The member liaison welcomed the CCAC’s newest member, Michael Olson, who
was appointed after recommendation by House Minority Leader John Boehner.
Mr. Olson is a career banker who has been active in promoting the circulation of
the dollar coin. He is currently president of US Bank in Pella, Iowa.
3. Cynthia Meals of the United States Mint presented proposed designs for the 2011
issues of the Presidential Dollar coin program, honoring Presidents Andrew
Johnson, Ulysses S. Grant, Rutherford B. Hayes, and James Garfield.
4. For several of the designs presented, members expressed concern about the
portrayal of the President’s hair, moustache, or beard. The CCAC therefore
recommends that whichever designs are chosen, attention should be given to the
accuracy and aesthetic quality of the tonsorial elements of Presidential images.
5. Results from the committee’s evaluation procedure were as follows:
Johnson (maximum 27): Design 2, 25 points; Design 5, 4 points.
Grant (maximum 27): Design 1, 26 points; Design 3, 3 points
Hayes (maximum 27): Design 5, 20 points; Design 1, 19 points
Garfield (maximum 27): Design 5, 18 points; Design 3, 7 points
6. As part of the discussion of Presidential dollar imagery, Mr. Burdette raised the
point that forward-facing images may exhibit unappealing wear patterns after long
periods in circulation. In the discussion that followed, several members
encouraged the United States Mint to investigate this possibility by simulating
wear either physically or with computer-aided tools.

7. Ms Meals then presented proposed theme for the 2011 issue of the Native
American $1 coin program: “Ousamequin Chief Massasoit of the Wampanoag
Welcomes the settlers at Plymouth Bay (1621).”
8. The committee voted unanimously to endorse the proposed theme.
9. After some discussion about the CCAC’s upcoming Annual Report, the meeting
was adjourned at 4:45 PM.