View original document

The full text on this page is automatically extracted from the file linked above and may contain errors and inconsistencies.

Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee
801 Ninth Street, NW, Washington, DC 20220


Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee
Public Meeting
January 15, 2008
United States Mint Headquarters, 801 9th Street NW, Washington DC, 8th floor
In attendance:
John Alexander
Michael Brown
Bill Fivaz
Arthur Houghton
Rita Laws (via teleconference)
Gary Marks
Mitch Sanders (chair)
Donald Scarinci
Joe Winter
1. The chair called the meeting to order at 9:15 A.M.
2. The minutes from the committee’s September 25, 2007 and November 13, 2007 meetings
were unanimously approved.
3. The committee then reviewed proposed designs for the Congressional Gold Medal
honoring Michael Ellis DeBakey, M.D., in recognition of his many contributions to the
4. Proposed designs for the DeBakey medal were presented by Kaarina Budow of the
United States Mint. The proposed obverse features Dr. DeBakey in his scrubs, with a
surgery in the background. The proposed reverse features an anatomical heart with a
ribbon inscribed with a quotation from Dr. DeBakey, “The pursuit of excellence has been
my objective in life,” with a globe in the background.
5. Ms Budow indicated that the proposed designs were the preferred designs of the
6. There followed a discussion about the anatomical accuracy of the heart on the reverse.
Mr Fivaz suggested that the top of the heart should show three arteries.
7. The committee voted unanimously to recommend both of the proposed designs, subject
to any possible change that Dr DeBakey might prefer to make the heart anatomically
8. The committee proceeded to review proposed designs for the 2009 circulating cent
representing Abraham Lincoln’s Presidency. The committee had previously viewed
proposed designs for this issue at its September 25, 2007 meeting. At that meeting, the
committee had recommended that the United States Mint should create additional designs
that would clearly depict Lincoln’s Presidency and depict him as a war President.
9. The committee’s discussion centered around designs 1 and 2, which show Lincoln
pondering a map; design 5, depicting Lincoln signing the Emancipation Proclamation;

design 11, showing Lincoln standing next to a Union cannon; and design 14, featuring the
phrase “With malice toward none, with charity for all.”
10. Several members were concerned that the details of designs 1 and 2 would not be clear on
a small coin.
11. Each member rated each of the twenty-four presented designs by assigning 0, 1, 2, or 3
points, with higher numbers representing more favorable opinions. With nine members
present and voting, the maximum possible point total is 27.
12. The committee’s top four choices, from among the designs presented, were:
Design 11: 18 points
Design 14: 8 points
Design 1:
6 points
Design 2:
5 points
13. The committee then voted 8-1 to recommend a modified version of design LC-R4-11,
which features a Civil War cannon. Specifically, the committee recommends that the
standing figure of Lincoln, which would be indistinct on a small coin, should be
removed. The committee further suggests that “E PLURIBUS UNUM” should be placed
below the cannon, and that “THE UNION PRESERVED” should appear above the
cannon. It was the general sense of the committee that this design would clearly convey
the importance of Lincoln’s wartime presidency.
14. The committee next considered proposed designs for the obverses of the 2009
Presidential Dollars, honoring Presidents William Henry Harrison, John Tyler, James K.
Polk, and Zachary Taylor.
15. The committee’s recommendations were:

Design 3 – 24 points
Design 1 – 12 points


Design 1 – 24 points
Design 8 – 14 points


Design 6 – 15 points
Design 4 – 11 points


Design 4 – 27 points
Designs 1, 3 – 4 points

16. The committee also reviewed a new obverse template, including the inscription IN GOD
WE TRUST, and a proposed new edge inscription including thirteen stars in place of IN
17. The committee voted 9-0 to recommend the proposed edge lettering template.
18. The committee voted 9-0 to recommend that the motto IN GOD WE TRUST should be
placed on the reverse of the Presidential dollar. Committee members felt that placing the
motto on the reverse would have the important benefit of preserving the continuity of the
obverse template used for the Presidential dollar series.
19. After a discussion of possible commemorative coinage programs for inclusion in the
committee’s Annual Report, the meeting was adjourned at noon.