View original document

The full text on this page is automatically extracted from the file linked above and may contain errors and inconsistencies.

Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee
Public Meeting
Tuesday, April 27, 2010, 8:30 AM
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel, Cook Room
One Dock Street
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
In attendance:
Doreen Bolger
Roger Burdette
Arthur Houghton
Gary Marks (Chairperson)
Rick Meier
Michael Olson
Mitch Sanders
Donald Scarinci
1. Chairperson Marks called the meeting to order at 8:30 A.M.
2. The minutes of the March 23, 2010 meeting were accepted by the committee with
Donald Scarinci registering a “No” vote.
3. The committee discussed the FY2009-10 Annual Report. Additional research is
needed to develop possible themes for 2015 commemorative programs. A
comprehensive discussion on the FY2009-10 report will be held at a future
4. Kaarina Budow of the United States Mint presented six (6) candidate reverse
designs for the 2011 Native American $1 Coin with the introduction: Diplomacy:
Treaties with Tribal Nation and design theme/contribution: Supreme Sachem
Ousamequin, Massasoit of the Great Wampanoag Nation creates alliance with
settlers at Plymouth Bay (1621).
5. After discussions concerning the designs, committee members rated proposed
designs by assigning 0, 1, 2, or 3 points to each, with higher points reflecting
more favorable evaluations. With eight members present and voting, the
maximum possible point total was 24. The committee recommended design
2011-NA-06, which shows two hands and a peace pipe, with 16 points. The
committee’s second most preferred design was 2011-NA-02, which depicts the
peace pipe ceremony between the Wampanoag Indians and the English who
settled at Patuxet (in what is now Plymouth, Massachusetts) with 10 points. The
point totals for each design were:
2011-NA-01: 0 points
2011-NA-02: 10 points
2011-NA-03: 0 points
2011-NA-04: 7 points
2011-NA-05: 2 points
2011-NA-06: 16 points

6. Marc Landry, Philadelphia Mint Plant Manager, presented former CCAC member
Sherl Joseph Winter with a certificate of distinguished public service for his
dedication and accomplishments as a member of the CCAC from 2005 to 2010
with special additional note to his contributions as a sculptor and engraver for the
U.S. Mint.
7. Cliff Northup, acting on behalf of Director Edmund Moy, presented Mitch
Sanders with a citation honoring his five years of service as chairperson of the
8. There being no further business, Chairperson Marks adjourned the meeting at
10:02 A.M.