News



Release

THE FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF ST. LOUIS ANNOUNCES BRANCH BOARD APPOINTMENTS

FOR INFORMATION CONTACT: Susan McCollum, 314-444-8688

94-6

FOR RELEASE JANUARY 13, 1994

ST. LOUIS -- The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis has announced the following appointments and reappointments to its Little Rock, Louisville and Memphis Branch boards of directors, effective January 1994.

LITTLE ROCK

JAMES V. KELLEY III of El Dorado, Ark., was reappointed to the Little Rock board for a three-year term by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis board of directors. He is chairman, president and chief executive officer of First United Bancshares, Inc. Active in both the Arkansas and American Bankers Associations, he serves on the boards of the Southwestern Graduate School of Banking Foundation and the Arkansas Science and Technology Authority.

(more)

BOARD OF DIRECTORS/2

MAHLON A. MARTIN of Little Rock, Ark., was reappointed to the Little Rock board for a three-year term by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis board of directors. He is president of the Winthrop Rockefeller Foundation. In addition to serving on the boards of the United Way of Pulaski County and New Futures for Little Rock Youth, he is a member of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People.

LOUISVILLE

ROBERT M. HALL of Seymour, Ind., was reappointed to the Louisville board for a three-year term by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis board of directors. He is the owner of East Fork Growers, which specializes in cattle and hog raising, and grain and vegetable production. In addition, he is president of the Jackson County Cattleman's Association, vice president of the Jackson County United Fund, a board member of Indiana Vocational College and a member of the Seymour Chamber of Commerce.

CHARLES D. STORMS of Evansville, Ind., was reappointed to the Louisville board for a three-year term by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis board of directors. He is president and chief executive officer of Red Spot Paint & Varnish Co., Inc. In addition, he is a member of several professional organizations and is on the boards of directors of the Evansville YMCA.

(more)

BOARD OF DIRECTORS/3

JOHN A. WILLIAMS of Paducah, Ky., was reappointed to the Louisville board for a three-year term by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System in Washington, D.C. Williams is chairman and chief executive officer of Computer Services, Inc. In addition, he serves as vice chairman of the National Boy Scout Museum Board of Trustees and is a member of Leadership Kentucky and the Kentucky Science and Technology Council.

MEMPHIS

WOODS E. EASTLAND of Indianola, Miss., was appointed to the Memphis board for a three-year term by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System in Washington, D.C. He is president and chief executive officer of Staple Cotton Cooperative Association. In addition to serving as vice president of the National Cotton Council and the Boy Scouts of America's Chickasaw Council, he serves on the boards of directors of the Delta Council and the New York Cotton Exchange.

BENJAMIN W. RAWLINS JR. of Memphis, Tenn., was appointed to the Memphis board for a three-year term by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis board of directors. He is chairman and chief executive officer of Union Planters Corporation. In addition to serving on the boards of the Memphis Arts Council and Junior Achievement, he is a member of the chancellor's roundtable at the University of Tennessee.

(more)

BOARD OF DIRECTORS/4

KATIE SUE WINCHESTER of Dyersburg, Tenn., was appointed to the Memphis board for a three-year term by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis board of directors. She is president and director of First Citizens National Bank. Active in the community, she is chairman of the board of Dyersburg Vocational Training Center, president of Dyer County Expanded Food & Nutrition Education Program and on the boards of directors of the Kiwanis Club of Dyersburg and American Red Cross of Dyersburg.

The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis has branches in Little Rock,
Louisville and Memphis. It serves the Eighth Federal Reserve District
which includes all of Arkansas, eastern Missouri, southern Indiana and
Illinois, western Kentucky and Tennessee, and northern Mississippi.
