R-586

242

BOARD OF GOVERNORS OF THE FEDERAL RESERVE SYSTEM

STATEMENT FOR THE PRESS

For release in morning newspapers of Saturday, December 30, 1939

€

1

December 29, 1939

The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System today announced the following designations and appointments of chairmen and deputy chairmen of the Federal Reserve banks for the year 1940, and directors of Federal Reserve banks and branches for the terms specified. All positions not preceded by an asterisk were filled by reappointment of the present incumbents.

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF BOSTON

CHAIRMAN AND FEDERAL RESERVE AGENT: Mr. F. H. Curtiss of Boston DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. Henry S. Dennison of Framingham Centre, Massachusetts CLASS "C" DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. Henry S. Dennison

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF NEW YORK

CHAIRMAN AND FEDERAL RESERVE AGENT: Mr. Cwen D. Young of New York, New York DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. Beardsley Ruml of New York, New York CLASS "C" DIRECTOR: For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. Edmund E. Day of Ithaca, New York

Buffalo Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. Gilbert A. Prole of Batavia, New York

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF PHILADELPHIA

CHAIRMAN AND FEDERAL RESERVE AGENT: Mr. Thomas B. McCabe of Swarthmore, Pennsylvania

*DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. Alfred H. Williams of Wallingford, Pennsylvania CLASS "C" DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. Thomas B. McCabe

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF CLEVELAND

CHAIRMAN AND FEDERAL RESERVE AGENT: Mr. Geo. C. Brainard of Youngstown, Ohio DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. R. E. Klages of Columbus, Ohio CLASS "C" DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. R. E. Klages

Cincinnati Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For two-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. Stuart B. Sutphin of Cincinnati

*For unexpired portion of two-year term ending 12-31-40: Mr. Frank A. Brown of Clarksburg, Ohio

Pittsburgh Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland

BRANCH DIRECTOR: For two-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. H. S. Wherrett of Pittsburgh

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF RICHMOND

CHAIRMAN AND FEDERAL RESERVE AGENT: Mr. Robert Lassiter of Charlotte, North Carolina DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. W. G. Wysor of Richmond CLASS "C" DIRECTOR: For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. W. G. Wysor

Baltimore Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

*For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. Joseph D. Baker, Jr., of Monkton, Maryland.

Charlotte Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond

BRANCH DIRECTOR: *For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. D. W. Watkins of Clemson, South Carolina

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF ATLANTA

CHAIRMAN AND FEDERAL RESERVE AGENT: Mr. Frank H. Neely of Atlanta DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. J. F. Porter of Williamsport, Tennessee CLASS "C" DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. J. F. Porter

R-586

Birmingham Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. Howard Gray of New Market, Alabama

Jacksonville Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. Howard Phillips of Orlando, Florida

Nashville Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. W. E. McEwen of Williamsport, Tennéssee

New Orleans Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. H. G. Chalkley, Jr., of Lake Charles, Louisiana

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF CHICAGO

*CHAIRMAN AND FEDERAL RESERVE AGENT: Mr. Robert E. Wood of Chicago *DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. Frank J. Lewis of Chicago CLASS "C" DIRECTOR: *For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. Clifford V. Gregory of Des Moines, Iowa

Detroit Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. H. L. Pierson of Detroit

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF ST. LOUIS

CHAIRMAN AND FEDERAL RESERVE AGENT: Mr. Wm. T. Nardin of St. Louis DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. Oscar Johnston of Scott, Mississippi CLASS "C" DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. Wm. T. Nardin *For unexpired portion of three-year term ending 12-31-41: Mr. Douglas W. Brooks of Memphis, Tennessee

Digitized for FRASER http://fraser.stlouisfed.org/ Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

2

Ŋ,

Little Rock Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

*For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. R. E. Short of Brinkley, Arkansas

Memphis Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

4

4

<u>,</u>5

L

*For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. J. P. Norfleet of Memphis

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF MINNEAPOLIS

*CHAIRMAN AND FEDERAL RESERVE AGENT: Mr. W. C. Coffey of St. Paul, Minnesota

CLASS "C" DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. W. C. Coffey *For unexpired portion of three-year term ending 12-31-41: Mr. Roger B. Shepard of St. Paul, Minnesota

Helena Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For two-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. H. D. Myrick of Square Butte, Montana

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF KANSAS CITY

CHAIRMAN AND FEDERAL RESERVE AGENT: Mr. R. B. Caldwell of Kansas City DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. J. J. Thomas of Seward, Nebraska CLASS "C" DIRECTOR: *For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. Clarence Roberts of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Denver Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City

BRANCH DIRECTOR: For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. Wilson McCarthy of Denver

Oklahoma City Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. T. S. Hanna of Oklahoma City
*For unexpired portion of three-year term ending 12-31-41: Mr. Neil R. Johnson of Norman, Oklahoma

Digitized for FRASER http://fraser.stlouisfed.org/ Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis Omaha Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

ţ,

4

6

For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. H. L. Dempster of Beatrice, Nebraska

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF DALLAS

CHAIRMAN AND FEDERAL RESERVE AGENT: Mr. J. H. Merritt of McKinney, Texas DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. Jay Taylor of Amarillo, Texas CLASS "C" DIRECTOR: For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. Jay Taylor

El Paso Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

BRANCH DIRECTOR: For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. R. E. Sherman of El Paso

Houston Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

BRANCH DIRECTOR: For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. Sam Taub of Houston

San Antonio Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

BRANCH DIRECTOR: For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. Edwin F. Flato of Corpus Christi, Texas

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF SAN FRANCISCO

DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. St. George Holden of San Francisco CLASS "C" DIRECTOR: For three-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. Carlyle Thorpe of Los Angeles, California

Los Angeles Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For two-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. Carl V. Newman of Tustin, California

Portland Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For two-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. Geo. T. Gerlinger of Portland -6-

R-586

Salt Lake City Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

ţ,

٩,

÷

ι.

For two-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. Herbert S. Auerbach of Salt Lake City

Seattle Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For two-year term beginning 1-1-40: Mr. Charles F. Larrabee of South Bellingham, Washington