BOARD OF GOVERNORS OF THE FEDERAL RESERVE SYSTEM

STATEMENT FOR THE PRESS

For release in morning newspapers of Saturday, December 31, 1938.

December 30, 1938.

The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System today announced the following designations and appointments of chairmen and deputy chairmen of the Federal reserve banks for the year 1939, and directors of Federal reserve banks and branches for the terms specified:

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF BOSTON

CHAIRMAN AND FEDERAL RESERVE AGENT: Mr. F. H. Curtiss of Boston DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. H. S. Dennison of Framingham, Massachusetts. CLASS "C" DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. F. H. Curtiss of Boston.

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF NEW YORK

CHAIRMAN AND FEDERAL RESERVE AGENT: Mr. Owen D. Young of New York, New York. DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. Beardsley Ruml of New York, New York. CLASS "C" DIRECTOR: For three-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. Beardsley Ruml of New York, New York.

Buffalo Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. M. B. Folsom of Rochester, New York.

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF PHILADELPHIA

CHAIRMAN AND FEDERAL RESERVE AGENT: Mr. Thomas B. McCabe of Swarthmore, Pennsylvania. DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. Francis Biddle of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF CLEVELAND

CHAIRMAN AND FEDERAL RESERVE AGENT: Mr. George C. Brainard of Youngstown, Ohio. DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. R. E. Klages of Columbus, Ohio. CLASS "C" DIRECTOR: For three-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. James C. Stone of Lexington, Kentucky.

R-373

Cincinnati Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For two-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. Alexander Thomson of Cincinnati.

Pittsburgh Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland

BRANCH DIRECTOR: For two-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. George T. Ladd of Pittsburgh.

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF RICHMOND

CHAIRMAN AND FEDERAL RESERVE AGENT: Mr. Robert Lassiter of Charlotte, North Carolina. DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. W. G. Wysor of Richmond.

Baltimore Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. W. Frank Thomas of Westminster, Maryland.

Charlotte Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond

BRANCH DIRECTOR: For three-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. George S. Harris of Charlotte.

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF ATLANTA

CHAIRMAN AND FEDERAL RESERVE AGENT: Mr. Frank H. Neely of Atlanta. DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. J. F. Porter of Williamsport, Tennessee. CLASS "C" DIRECTOR: For three-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. Frank H.

Neely of Atlanta.

Birmingham Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. Donald Comer of Birmingham.

Jacksonville Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. Robert H. Gamble of Jacksonville.

R-373

Nashville Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. Clyde B. Austin of Greeneville, Tennessee.

New Orleans Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. Alexander Fitz-Hugh of Vicksburg, Mississippi.
For unexpired portion of term ending December 31, 1940: Mr. E. F. Billington of Meridian, Mississippi.

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF CHICAGO

DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. R. E. Wood of Chicago CLASS "C" DIRECTOR: For three-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. R. E. Wood of Chicago.

Detroit Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. L. W. Watkins of Manchester, Michigan.

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF ST. LOUIS

CHAIRMAN AND FEDERAL RESERVE AGENT: Mr. W. T. Nardin of St. Louis. DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. Oscar Johnston of Scott, Mississippi.

Louisville Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. J. B. Hill of Louisville.

Little Rock Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. H. H. Tucker of Little Rock.

Memphis Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. J. Holmes Sherard of Sherard, Mississippi.



-4-

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF MINNEAPOLIS

DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. W. C. Coffey of St. Paul, Minnesota.

Helena Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For two-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. Alex Cunningham of Helena.

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF KANSAS CITY

CHAIRMAN AND FEDERAL RESERVE AGENT: Mr. Robert B. Caldwell of Kansas City, Missouri. DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. J. J. Thomas of Seward, Nebraska. CLASS "C" DIRECTOR: For three-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. J. J. Thomas of Seward, Nebraska.

Denver Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City

BRANCH DIRECTOR: For three-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. J. B. Grant of Denver.

Oklahoma City Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City

BRANCH DIRECTOR: For three-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. Clarence Roberts of Oklahoma City.

Omaha Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City

BRANCH DIRECTOR: For three year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. R. E. Campbell of Lincoln, Nebraska.

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF DALLAS

CHAIRMAN AND FEDERAL RESERVE AGENT: Mr. J. H. Merritt of McKinney, Texas. DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. Jay Taylor of Amarillo, Texas. CLASS "C" DIRECTOR: For three-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. J. H. Merritt of McKinney, Texas.

El Paso Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. F. M. Hayner of Las Cruces, New Mexico.

R-373

Houston Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For three-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. H. Renfert of Galveston, Texas.

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF SAN FRANCISCO

DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Mr. St. George Holden of San Francisco

-5-

Los Angeles Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For two-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. W. S. Rosecrans of Hermosa Beach, California.

Portland Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For two-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. A. E. Engbretsen of Astoria, Oregon.

Salt Lake City Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For two-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. John Thomas of Gooding, Idaho.

Seattle Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

BRANCH DIRECTOR:

For two-year term beginning January 1, 1939: Mr. Fred Nelsen of Seattle.

Digitized for FRASER http://fraser.stlouisfed.org/ Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis