A meeting of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System was held in Washington on Thursday, May 22, 1941, at 11:00 a.m.

PRESENT: Mr. Eccles, Chairman

Mr. Szymczak Mr. Draper

Mr. Morrill, Secretary

Mr. Bethea, Assistant Secretary Mr. Carpenter, Assistant Secretary Mr. Clayton, Assistant to the Chairman

The action stated with respect to each of the matters hereinafter referred to was taken by the Board:

Memorandum from Mr. Smead, Chief of the Division of Bank Operations, submitting the resignation of Mrs. Neva E. Ontrich, a stenographer in that Division, to become effective as of the close of business on June 12, 1941, and recommending that the resignation be accepted as of that date.

The resignation was accepted.

Letter to Mr. Hill, Vice President of the Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia, reading as follows:

"In accordance with the request contained in your letter of May 19, the Board approves the designations as special assistant examiners of the following employees:

William T. P. Helm William Crozier Edgar W. Holloway Henry A. Rickert Edward W. Kemps John G. Roesch Frank D. Leidy Clarence P. Brehm Joseph A. Maloy Norman C. Morris John T. Redington Anthony J. McKinley Wilbur H. Reimer Winfield S. Bigelow Joseph A. Santry Wm. Smithson

Charles A. Seydel"

Approved unanimously.

5/22/41

-2-

Letter to Mr. Hitt, First Vice President of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, reading as follows:

"The Board of Governors approves the changes in the personnel classification plan of your Memphis Branch as requested in your letter of May 17, 1941."

Approved unanimously.

Letter to the board of directors of the "Auburn Savings Bank",

Auburn, Iowa, stating that, subject to conditions of membership numbered

1 to 3 contained in the Board's Regulation H, the Board approves the

bank's application for membership in the Federal Reserve System and for

the appropriate amount of stock in the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago.

Approved unanimously for transmission through the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago.

Thereupon the meeting adjourned.

Cohester Morrieg Secretary.

Approved:

Chairman.