FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF ST. LOUIS

P. O. BOX 442 ST. LOUIS, MISSOURI 63166

December 29, 1970

TO ALL BANKS IN THE EIGHTH FEDERAL RESERVE DISTRICT:

The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System has announced the following appointments and designation at this Bank and its Branches:

Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

Mr. Frederic M. Peirce Chairman and Chief Executive Officer General American Life Insurance Company St. Louis, Missouri

Mr. Sam Cooper
President
HumKo Products
Division of Kraftco Corporation
Memphis, Tennessee

Mr. Harry M. Young, Jr. Farmer Herndon, Kentucky Redesignated Chairman of the Board and Federal Reserve Agent at the Bank for the year 1971.

Appointed Deputy Chairman of the Board for the year 1971.

Appointed a Class C director of the Bank for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1971.

Little Rock Branch

Mr. Roland R. Remmel
Chairman of the Board
Southland Building Products Co.
Little Rock, Arkansas

Appointed a director for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1971.

Louisville Branch

DR. WILLIAM H. STROUBE
College of Science and Technology
Western Kentucky University
Bowling Green, Kentucky

Appointed a director for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1971.

Memphis Branch

Mr. Alvin Huffman, Jr.
President
Huffman Brothers, Incorporated
Blytheville, Arkansas

Reappointed a director for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1971.

The Board of Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis has made the following appointments and selection:

Little Rock Branch

Mr. Edward M. Penick
President and Chief Executive Officer
Worthen Bank & Trust Company
Little Rock, Arkansas

Reappointed a director for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1971.

Louisville Branch

Mr. Harold E. Jackson President The Scott County State Bank Scottsburg, Indiana Appointed a director for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1971.

MR. HERBERT J. SMITH
President
The American National Bank and
Trust Company of Bowling Green
Bowling Green, Kentucky

Appointed a director, beginning January 1, 1971, for the unexpired portion of a term ending December 31, 1972.

Memphis Branch

Mr. J. J. White President Helena National Bank Helena, Arkansas Reappointed a director for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1971.

Member of Federal Advisory Council

Mr. Allen Morgan Chairman of the Board The First National Bank of Memphis Memphis, Tennessee Reselected a member of the Federal Advisory Council to represent the Eighth Federal Reserve District for the year 1971.

Yours very truly

Darryl R. Francis

President

Press Information



Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis St. Louis, Missouri 63166

FOR RELEASE Tuesday, December 29, 1970

Mr. Frederic M. Peirce of St. Louis, Missouri, has been redesignated by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System as Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis and Federal Reserve Agent at the bank for the year 1971. He has served in these capacities and as a Director of the bank since May 11, 1966. Mr. Peirce is Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the General American Life Insurance Company, St. Louis, Missouri.

Mr. Sam Cooper, President, HumKo Products, Division of Kraftco Corporation, Memphis, Tennessee, has been appointed by the Board of Governors as Deputy Chairman of the Board of Directors of the bank for the year 1971. He has served as a Director of the bank since January 1969. Mr. Cooper also served as a Director of the Memphis Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis from January 1964 through December 1968 and as Chairman of the Memphis Board 1965 and 1968.

Mr. Harry M. Young, Jr., Farmer, Herndon, Kentucky, has been appointed by the Board of Governors as a Director of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1971. He has served as a Director of the Louisville Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis from January 1968 through December 1970 and as Chairman of the Louisville Board 1969 and 1970.

The following appointments to the Boards of Directors of the Branches of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis have been made by the Board of Governors:

- Mr. Roland R. Remmel, Chairman of the Board, Southland Building Products Co., Little Rock, Arkansas, appointed as a member of the <u>Little Rock Branch</u> Board for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1971.
- Dr. William H. Stroube, College of Science and Technology,
 Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green,
 Kentucky, appointed as a member of the Louisville
 Branch Board for a three-year term beginning
 January 1, 1971.

Mr. Alvin Huffman, Jr., President, Huffman Brothers, Incorporated, Blytheville, Arkansas, reappointed as a member of the Memphis Branch Board for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1971.

The following were appointed by the Board of Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis:

- Mr. Edward M. Penick, President and Chief Executive Officer, Worthen Bank & Trust Company, Little Rock, Arkansas, reappointed as a member of the Little Rock Branch Board for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1971.
- Mr. Harold E. Jackson, President, The Scott County State Bank, Scottsburg, Indiana, appointed as a member of the <u>Louisville Branch</u> Board for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1971.
- Mr. Herbert J. Smith, President, The American National Bank and Trust Company of Bowling Green, Bowling Green, Kentucky, appointed as a member of the Louisville Branch Board, beginning January 1, 1971, for the unexpired portion of a term ending December 31, 1972.
- Mr. J. J. White, President, Helena National Bank, Helena, Arkansas, reappointed as a member of the <u>Memphis Branch</u> Board for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1971.

The Board of Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank consists of nine members, six of whom are chosen by the member banks and three by the Board of Governors in Washington. Each Branch has seven Directors, four of whom are appointed by the Board of Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank and three by the Board of Governors.

The Board of Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis has reselected Mr. Allen Morgan as a member of the Federal Advisory Council to represent the Eighth Federal Reserve District for the year 1971. Mr. Morgan is Chairman of the Board, The First National Bank of Memphis, Memphis, Tennessee.