# Press Information



Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis St. Louis, Missouri 63166

FOR RELEASE Tuesday, December 30, 1969

Mr. Frederic M. Peirce of St. Louis, Missouri, has been redesignated by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System as Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis and Federal Reserve Agent at the bank for the year 1970. He has served in these capacities and as a Director of the bank since May 11, 1966. Mr. Peirce is Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the General American Life Insurance Company, St. Louis, Missouri.

Mr. Smith D. Broadbent, Jr., Cadiz, Kentucky, has been reappointed by the Board of Governors as Deputy Chairman of the Board of Directors of the bank for the year 1970. He has served in this capacity and as a Director of the bank since January 1965. Mr. Broadbent also served as a Director of the Louisville Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis from June 1948 through December 1955, and as Chairman of the Louisville Board from 1953 through 1955. He is owner of the Broadbent Hybrid Seed Co., Cadiz, Kentucky.

Mr. Sam Cooper, President, HumKo Products, Division of Kraftco Corporation, Memphis, Tennessee, has been reappointed by the Board of Governors as a Director of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1970. He has served in this capacity since January 1969, and as a Director of the Memphis Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis from January 1964 through December 1968 and as Chairman of the Memphis Board 1965 and 1968.

The following appointments to the Boards of Directors of the Branches of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis have been made by the Board of Governors:

- Mr. Jake Hartz, Jr., President, Jacob Hartz Seed Co., Inc., Stuttgart, Arkansas, reappointed as a member of the Little Rock Branch Board for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1970.
- Mr. John G. Beam, President, Thomas Industries Inc., Louisville, Kentucky, reappointed as a member of the <u>Louisville Branch</u> Board for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1970.

Mr. William L. Giles, President, Mississippi State University, State College, Mississippi, reappointed as a member of the Memphis Branch Board for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1970.

The following were appointed by the Board of Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis:

- Mr. Ellis E. Shelton, President, The First National Bank of Fayetteville, Fayetteville, Arkansas, reappointed as a member of the Little Rock Branch Board for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1970.
- Mr. Wayne A. Stone, President, Simmons First National Bank of Pine Bluff, Pine Bluff, Arkansas, reappointed as a member of the Little Rock Branch Board for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1970.
- Mr. Paul Chase, President, The Bedford National Bank, Bedford, Indiana, reappointed as a member of the Louisville Branch Board for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1970.
- Mr. James C. Zimmerman, Executive Vice President, The Owensboro National Bank, Owensboro, Kentucky, appointed as a member of the Louisville Branch Board for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1970.
- Mr. James R. Fitzhugh, Executive Vice President and Cashier, Bank of Ripley, Ripley, Tennessee, appointed as a member of the Memphis Branch Board for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1970.
- Mr. Lewis K. McKee, Chairman of the Board, National Bank of Commerce, Memphis, Tennessee, appointed as a member of the Memphis Branch Board for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1970.

The Board of Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank consists of nine members, six of whom are chosen by the member banks and three by the Board of Governors in Washington. Each Branch has seven Directors, four of whom are appointed by the Board of Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank and three by the Board of Governors.

#### FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF ST. LOUIS

## P. O. BOX 442 ST. LOUIS, MISSOURI 63166

December 30, 1969

To all Banks in the Eighth Federal Reserve District:

The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System has announced the following appointments and designation at this Bank and its Branches:

#### Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

Mr. Frederic M. Peirce Chairman and Chief Executive Officer General American Life Insurance Company St. Louis, Missouri

Mr. Smith D. Broadbent, Jr. Owner Broadbent Hybrid Seed Co. Cadiz, Kentucky

Mr. Sam Cooper
President
HumKo Products
Division of Kraftco Corporation
Memphis, Tennessee

Redesignated Chairman of the Board and Federal Reserve Agent at the Bank for the year 1970.

Reappointed Deputy Chairman of the Board for the year 1970.

Reappointed a Class C director of the Bank for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1970.

#### Little Rock Branch

MR. JAKE HARTZ, JR.
President
Jacob Hartz Seed Co., Inc.
Stuttgart, Arkansas

Reappointed a director for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1970.

#### Louisville Branch

Mr. John G. Beam
President
Thomas Industries Inc.
Louisville, Kentucky

Reappointed a director for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1970.

#### Memphis Branch

Mr. William L. Giles President Mississippi State University State College, Mississippi Reappointed a director for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1970.

#### The Board of Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis has made the following appointments:

## Little Rock Branch

MR. ELLIS E. SHELTON

President

The First National Bank of Fayetteville

Fayetteville, Arkansas

MR. WAYNE A. STONE

President

Simmons First National Bank

of Pine Bluff

Pine Bluff, Arkansas

Reappointed a director for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1970.

Reappointed a director for a three-year

term beginning January 1, 1970.

## Louisville Branch

MR. PAUL CHASE

President

The Bedford National Bank

Bedford, Indiana

Reappointed a director for a three-year

term beginning January 1, 1970.

MR. JAMES C. ZIMMERMAN Executive Vice President

The Owensboro National Bank

Owensboro, Kentucky

Appointed a director for a three-year

term beginning January 1, 1970.

#### Memphis Branch

MR. JAMES R. FITZHUGH

Executive Vice President and Cashier

Bank of Ripley Ripley, Tennessee Appointed a director for a three-year

term beginning January 1, 1970.

MR. LEWIS K. MCKEE

Chairman of the Board

National Bank of Commerce

Memphis, Tennessee

Appointed a director for a three-year

term beginning January 1, 1970.

Yours very truly

Darryl R. Francis

President