Home > News & Events > Press Releases

Press Release

September 14, 2009

Board announces appointment of the chairs and deputy chairs of the twelve Federal Reserve Banks for 2010

For immediate release

Share

The Federal Reserve Board on Monday announced the designation of the chairs and deputy chairs of the twelve Federal Reserve Banks for 2010.

Each Reserve Bank has a nine-member board of directors. The Board of Governors in Washington appoints three of these directors and each year designates one of its appointees as chair and a second as deputy chair.

Following are the names of the chairs and deputy chairs designated by the Board for 2010:

Boston

Henri A. Termeer, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, Genzyme Corporation, Cambridge, Massachusetts, named Chair.

Kirk A. Sykes, President, Urban Strategy America Fund, L.P., Boston, Massachusetts, named Deputy Chair.

New York

Denis M. Hughes, President, New York State AFL-CIO, New York, New York, renamed Chair.

Lee C. Bollinger, President, Columbia University, New York, New York,

renamed Deputy Chair.

Philadelphia

Charles P. Pizzi, President and Chief Executive Officer, Tasty Baking Company, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, named Chair.

Jeremy Nowak, President and Chief Executive Officer, The Reinvestment Fund, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, named Deputy Chair.

Cleveland

Alfred M. Rankin, Jr., Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, NACCO Industries, Inc., Cleveland, Ohio, named Chair.

Richard K. Smucker, Executive Chairman and Co-Chief Executive Officer, The J.M. Smucker Company, Orrville, Ohio, named Deputy Chair.

Richmond

Lemuel E. Lewis, President, LocalWeather.com, Suffolk, Virginia, renamed Chair.

Margaret E. McDermid, Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer, Dominion Resources, Inc., Richmond, Virginia, renamed Deputy Chair.

Atlanta

Carol B. Tomé, Chief Financial Officer and Executive Vice President, The Home Depot, Atlanta, Georgia, named Chair.

Thomas I. Barkin, Director, McKinsey & Company, Atlanta, Georgia, named Deputy Chair.

Chicago

William C. Foote, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, USG Corporation, Chicago, Illinois, named Chair.

Thomas J. Wilson, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, The Allstate Corporation, Northbrook, Illinois, named Deputy Chair.

St. Louis

Steven H. Lipstein, President and Chief Executive Officer, BJC HealthCare, St. Louis, Missouri, renamed Chair.

Ward M. Klein, Chief Executive Officer, Energizer Holdings, Inc., Town & Country, Missouri, renamed Deputy Chair.

Minneapolis

John W. Marvin, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Marvin Windows and Doors, Warroad, Minnesota, named Chair.

Mary K. Brainerd, President and Chief Executive Officer, HealthPartners, Minneapolis, Minnesota, named Deputy Chair.

Kansas City

Lu M. Cordova, Chief Executive Officer, Corlund Industries, LLC and President & General Manager, Almacen Storage Group, Boulder, Colorado, renamed Chair. Paul DeBruce, Chief Executive Officer and Chairman/Founder, DeBruce Grain, Inc., Kansas City, Missouri, renamed Deputy Chair.

Dallas

James T. Hackett, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, Anadarko Petroleum Corporation, Houston, Texas, renamed Chair.

Herb Kelleher, Founder and Chairman Emeritus, Southwest Airlines, Dallas, Texas, renamed Deputy Chair.

San Francisco

T. Gary Rogers, Chairman of the Board, Levi Strauss & Co., San Francisco, California, renamed Chair.

Douglas W. Shorenstein, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Shorenstein Properties LLC, San Francisco, California, renamed Deputy Chair.

Last Update: September 14, 2009



BOARD OF GOVERNORS of the FEDERAL RESERVE SYSTEM

About the Fed News & Events Monetary Policy Supervision & Regulation Payment Systems Economic Research Data Consumers & Communities Financial Stability

TOOLS AND INFORMATION

Contact Publications Freedom of Information (FOIA) Office of Inspector General Budget & Performance | Audit No FEAR Act Español Website Policies | Privacy Program Accessibility

