

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF DALLAS

DALLAS, TEXAS 75265-5906

October 22, 2002

Notice 02-58

TO: The Chief Executive Officer of each financial institution and others concerned in the Eleventh Federal Reserve District

SUBJECT

Appointment of Chairmen and Deputy Chairmen for 2003

DETAILS

The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System has announced the appointment of chairmen and deputy chairmen of the 12 Federal Reserve Banks for 2003. For the Eleventh Federal Reserve District, the appointments are as follows:

Ray L. Hunt, Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer, Hunt Consolidated, Inc., Dallas, Texas (Chairman)

Patricia M. Patterson, President, Patterson Investments, Inc., Dallas, Texas (Deputy Chairman)

ATTACHMENT

A copy of the Board's press release, which lists the appointments for all Reserve Banks, is attached.

MORE INFORMATION

For more information regarding the chairman and deputy chairman for the Eleventh District, please contact the Secretary's Office at (214) 922-5016. Paper copies of this notice or previous Federal Reserve Bank notices can be printed from our web site at http://www.dallasfed.org/banking/notices/index.html.

Federal Reserve Release

Press Release

Release Date: October 11, 2002

For immediate release

The Federal Reserve Board on Friday announced the appointment of chairmen and deputy chairmen of the twelve Federal Reserve Banks for 2003.

Each Reserve Bank has a nine-member board of directors. The Board of Governors in Washington appoints three of these directors and designates one of its appointees as chairman and a second as deputy chairman.

Following are the names of the chairmen and deputy chairmen appointed by the Board for 2003:

Boston

- O James J. Norton, Vice President, AFL-CIO, Washington, D.C., named Chairman.
- Samuel O. Thier, M.D., President and Chief Executive Officer, Partners HealthCare System, Inc., Boston, Massachusetts, named Deputy Chairman.

New York

- O Peter G. Peterson, Chairman, The Blackstone Group, New York, New York, renamed Chairman.
- O John E. Sexton, President, New York University, New York, New York, named Deputy Chairman.

Philadelphia

- O Glenn A. Schaeffer, President Emeritus, Pennsylvania Building and Construction Trades Council, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, named Chairman.
- Ronald J. Naples, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Quaker Chemical Corporation, Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, named Deputy Chairman.

Cleveland

- Robert W. Mahoney, Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Diebold, Incorporated, Canton, Ohio, named Chairman.
- Charles E. Bunch, President and Chief Operating Officer, PPG Industries, Inc., Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, named Deputy Chairman.

Richmond

- O Wesley S. Williams, Jr., Partner, Covington & Burling, Washington, D.C., named Chairman.
- Irwin Zazulia, Retired President and Chief Executive Officer, Hecht's, Arlington, Virginia, named Deputy Chairman.

Atlanta

- O Paula Lovell, President, Lovell Communications, Inc., Nashville, Tennessee, named Chairman.
- David M. Ratcliffe, President and Chief Executive Officer, Georgia Power Company, Atlanta, Georgia, named Deputy Chairman.

Chicago

- Robert J. Darnall, Former Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer, Inland Steel Industries, Inc., Chicago, Illinois, renamed Chairman.
- W. James Farrell, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Illinois Tool Works Inc., Glenview, Illinois, renamed Deputy Chairman.

St. Louis

- O Charles W. Mueller, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Ameren Corporation, St. Louis, Missouri, renamed Chairman.
- O Walter L. Metcalfe, Jr., Chairman, Bryan Cave LLP, St. Louis, Missouri, renamed Deputy Chairman.

Minneapolis

- Ronald N. Zwieg, President, United Food & Commercial Workers, Local 653, Plymouth, Minnesota, renamed Chairman.
- Linda Hall Whitman, Chief Executive Officer, QuickMedx, Inc., Edina, Minnesota, renamed Deputy Chairman.

Kansas City

- Terrence P. Dunn, President and Chief Executive Officer, J.E. Dunn Construction Company, Kansas City, Missouri, renamed Chairman.
- Richard H. Bard, Founder and Manager, IdeaSpring, LLC, Denver, Colorado, renamed Deputy Chairman.

Dallas

- Ray L. Hunt, Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer, Hunt Consolidated, Inc., Dallas, Texas, named Chairman.
- Patricia M. Patterson, President, Patterson Investments, Inc., Dallas, Texas, renamed Deputy Chairman.

San Francisco

- O Nelson C. Rising, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Catellus Development Corporation, San Francisco, California, renamed Chairman.
- George M. Scalise, President, Semiconductor Industry Association, San Jose, California, renamed Deputy Chairman.