

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF DALLAS

December 31, 1997

DALLAS, TEXAS 75265-5906

Notice 97-128

TO: The Chief Executive Officer of each financial institution and others concerned in the Eleventh Federal Reserve District

SUBJECT

Appointment of Chairmen and Deputy Chairmen

DETAILS

The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System has announced the appointment of Chairmen and Deputy Chairmen of the 12 Reserve Banks for 1998. For the Eleventh Federal Reserve District, the appointments are as follows:

Roger R. Hemminghaus, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Ultramar Diamond Shamrock Corp., San Antonio, Texas (Chairman)

James A. Martin, Second General Vice President, International Association of Bridge, Structural, & Ornamental Iron Workers, Austin, Texas (Deputy Chairman)

ATTACHMENTS

Copies of the Board's press releases, which list the appointments for all Reserve Banks, are attached.

MORE INFORMATION

For more information regarding the Chairman and Deputy Chairman for the Eleventh District, please contact the Secretary's Office at (214) 922-5016. For additional copies of this Bank's notice, please contact the Public Affairs Department at (214) 922-5254.

Robert D. McTeer, Jr.

For additional copies, bankers and others are encouraged to use one of the following toll-free numbers in contacting the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas: Dallas Office (800) 333-4460; El Paso Branch *Intrastate* (800) 592-1631, *Interstate* (800) 351-1012; Houston Branch *Intrastate* (800) 392-4162, *Interstate* (800) 221-0363; San Antonio Branch *Intrastate* (800) 292-5810.

FEDERAL RESERVE press release



For immediate release

November 3, 1997

The Federal Reserve Board today announced the appointment of Chairmen and Deputy Chairmen of the 12 Federal Reserve Banks for 1998.

Each Reserve Bank has a Board of Directors of nine members. The Board of Governors in Washington appoints three of these directors and designates one of its appointees as Chairman and a second as Deputy Chairman.

Following are the names of the Chairmen and Deputy
Chairmen appointed by the Board for next year:

Boston -- William C. Brainard, Professor, Department of Economics, Yale University, New Haven, CT, renamed Chairman.

Deputy Chairman -- To be announced.

New York -- John C. Whitehead, Chairman, AEA Investors Inc., New York, NY, renamed Chairman.

Thomas W. Jones, Vice Chairman, Travelers Group Inc., and Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Smith Barney Asset Management, New York, NY, renamed Deputy Chairman.

Philadelphia -- Joan Carter, President and Chief Operating Officer, UM Holdings Ltd., Haddonfield, NJ, Chairman.

> Charisse R. Lillie, Partner, Ballard Spahr Andrews & Ingersoll, Philadelphia, PA, Deputy Chairman.

Cleveland -- G. Watts Humphrey, Jr., President, GWH Holdings, Inc., Pittsburgh, PA, renamed Chairman. David H. Hoag, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, The LTV Corporation, Cleveland, OH, renamed Deputy Chairman.

Richmond -- Claudine B. Malone, President, Financial & Management Consulting, Inc., McLean, VA, renamed Chairman.

Robert L. Strickland, Chairman, Lowe's Companies, Inc., Winston-Salem, NC, renamed Deputy Chairman.

Atlanta -- David R. Jones, President and Chief Executive Officer, AGL Resources Inc., Atlanta, GA, Chairman.

John F. Wieland, President, John Wieland Homes, Inc., Atlanta, GA, Deputy Chairman.

Chicago -- Lester H. McKeever, Jr., Managing Partner, Washington, Pittman & McKeever, Chicago, IL, renamed Chairman.

> Arthur C. Martinez, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Sears, Roebuck and Co., Hoffman Estates, IL, renamed Deputy Chairman.

St. Louis -- John F. McDonnell, Former Chairman, McDonnell Douglas Corp., St. Louis, MO, renamed Chairman.

Susan S. Elliott, President and Chief Executive Officer, Systems Service Enterprises, Inc., St. Louis, MO, renamed Deputy Chairman.

Minneapolis -- David A. Koch, Chairman, Graco Inc., Plymouth, MN, Chairman.

James J. Howard, Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer, Northern States Power Company, Minneapolis, MN, Deputy Chairman.

Deputy Chairman -- To be announced.

Dallas -- Roger R. Hemminghaus, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Ultramar Diamond Shamrock Corp., San Antonio, TX, renamed Chairman. James A. Martin, Second General Vice President, International Association of Bridge, Structural, & Ornamental Iron Workers, Austin, TX, Deputy Chairman.

San Francisco -- Gary G. Michael, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Albertson's, Inc., Boise, ID, Chairman.

> Cynthia A. Parker, Executive Director, Anchorage Neighborhood Housing Services, Inc., Anchorage, AK, Deputy Chairman.

FEDERAL RESERVE press release



For immediate release

December 5, 1997

The Federal Reserve Board today announced the appointment of two Deputy

Chairmen of Federal Reserve Banks for 1998. They are:

Boston -- William O. Taylor, Chairman and C.E.O., Globe Newspaper Company, Boston, MA, Deputy Chairman.

Kansas City -- Terrence P. Dunn, President and C.E.O., J.E. Dunn Construction Company, Kansas City, MO., Deputy Chairman.

The names of the Chairmen of the 12 Federal Reserve Banks and the other Deputy Chairmen were announced last month. Each Reserve Bank has a Board of Directors of nine members. The Board of Governors in Washington appoints three of these directors and designates one of its appointees as Chairman and another as Deputy Chairman.