

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF DALLAS

ROBERT D. MCTEER, JR. PRESIDENT AND CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

December 20, 1996

DALLAS, TEXAS 75265-5906

Notice 96-127

TO: The Chief Executive Officer of each member bank and others concerned in the Eleventh Federal Reserve District

SUBJECT

Appointment of Chairmen and Deputy Chairmen

DETAILS

The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System has announced the appointment of Chairmen and Deputy Chairmen of the 12 Reserve Banks for 1997. For the Eleventh Federal Reserve District, the appointments are as follows:

Roger R. Hemminghaus, Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Ultramar Diamond Shamrock Corp., San Antonio, Texas (Chairman)

Cece Smith, General Partner, Phillips-Smith Specialty Retail Group, Dallas, Texas (Deputy Chairman)

ATTACHMENT

A copy of the Board's press release dated November 4, 1996, listing the appointments for all Reserve Banks is attached. Please note that this Bank's notice reflects recent changes to Mr. Hemminghaus' title and company name not shown on the Board's press release.

MORE INFORMATION

For more information regarding the Chairman and Deputy Chairman for the Eleventh District, please contact the Secretary's Office at (214) 922-5016. For additional copies of this Bank's notice, please contact the Public Affairs Department at (214) 922-5254.

Sincerely yours,

Robert D. McTeer, fr.

For additional copies, bankers and others are encouraged to use one of the following toll-free numbers in contacting the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas: Dallas Office (800) 333 -4460; El Paso Branch Intrastate (800) 592-1631, Interstate (800) 351-1012; Houston Branch Intrastate (800) 392-4162, Interstate (800) 221-0363; San Antonio Branch Intrastate (800) 292-5810.

This publication was digitized and made available by the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas' Historical Library (FedHistory@dal.frb.org)

FEDERAL RESERVE press release



For immediate release

November 4, 1996

The Federal Reserve Board today announced the appointment of Chairmen and Deputy Chairmen of the 12 Federal Reserve Banks for 1997.

Each Reserve Bank has a Board of Directors of nine members. The Board of Governors in Washington appoints three of these directors and designates one of its appointees as Chairman and a second as Deputy Chairman.

Following are the names of the Chairmen and Deputy Chairmen appointed by the Board for next year:

> Boston -- William C. Brainard, Chairman, Department of Economics, Yale University, New Haven, Ct., Chairman.

> > Frederick J. Mancheski, Chairman and CEO, Echlin Inc., Branford, Ct., Deputy Chairman.

New York -- John C. Whitehead, Chairman, AEA Investors Inc., New York, N.Y., renamed Chairman.

> Thomas W. Jones, Vice Chairman, President and COO, Teachers Insurance and Annuity Assn. --College Retirement Equities Fund, New York, N.Y., renamed Deputy Chairman.

Philadelphia -- Donald J. Kennedy, Business Manager, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Local Union No. 269, Trenton, N.J., renamed Chairman.

> Joan Carter, President and COO, UM Holdings Ltd., Haddonfield, N.J., renamed Deputy Chairman.

Cleveland -- G. Watts Humphrey, Jr., President, GWH Holdings, Inc., Pittsburgh, Pa., Chairman. David H. Hoag, Chairman and CEO, The LTV Corporation, Cleveland, Oh., Deputy Chairman.

Richmond -- Claudine B. Malone, President, Financial & Management Consulting Inc., McLean, Va., renamed Chairman.

> Robert L. Strickland, Chairman, Lowe's Companies, Inc., Winston-Salem, N.C., renamed Deputy Chairman.

Atlanta -- Hugh M. Brown, President and CEO, BAMSI, Inc., Titusville, Fla., renamed Chairman.

> David R. Jones, President and CEO, Atlanta Gas Light Company, Atlanta, Ga., Deputy Chairman.

Chicago -- Lester H. McKeever, Jr., Managing Partner, Washington, Pittman & McKeever, Chicago, Il., Chairman.

> Arthur C. Martinez, Chairman and CEO, Sears, Roebuck and Co., Hoffman Estates, Il., Deputy Chairman.

St. Louis -- John F. McDonnell, Chairman, McDonnell Douglas Corp., St. Louis, Mo., renamed Chairman.

> Susan S. Elliott, President and CEO, Systems Service Enterprises, Inc., St. Louis, Mo.; renamed Deputy Chairman.

Minneapolis -- Jean D. Kinsey, Professor, Consumption Economics, University of Minnesota, St. Paul, Mn., renamed Chairman.

> David A. Koch, Chairman, Graco, Inc., Minneapolis, Minn., renamed Deputy Chairman.

Kansas City -- A. Drue Jennings, Chairman, President, and CEO, Kansas City Power & Light Co., Kansas City, Mo., renamed Chairman.

Jo Marie Danick, Area Managing Partner, Ernst & Young LLP, Denver, Co., renamed Deputy Chairman.

Dallas -- Roger R. Hemminghaus, Chairman, President and CEO, Diamond Shamrock, Inc., San Antonio, Tx., Chairman.

> Cece Smith, General Partner, Phillips-Smith Specialty Retail Group, Dallas, Tx., Deputy Chairman.

San Francisco -- Judith M. Runstad, Partner, Foster Pepper and Shefelman, Seattle, Wa., renamed Chairman.

> Gary G. Michael, Chairman and CEO, Albertson's, Inc., Boise, Id., Deputy Chairman.

> > -0-