

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF DALLAS

ROBERT D. MCTEER, JR. PRESIDENT AND CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

February 14, 1996

DALLAS, TEXAS 75265-5906

Notice 96-17

TO: The Chief Executive Officer of each member bank and others concerned in the Eleventh Federal Reserve District

SUBJECT

Federal Reserve Board Appointments to the Consumer Advisory Council

DETAILS

The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System has announced the appointment of 9 new members to its Consumer Advisory Council to replace those members whose terms have expired. In addition, the Board has designated a new chairman and vice chairman of the council for 1996.

The Consumer Advisory Council was established by Congress in 1976, at the suggestion of the Board, to advise the Board on the exercise of its duties under the Consumer Credit Protection Act and on other consumer-related matters. The 30-member council, with staggered three-year terms of office, meets three times a year.

Katharine W. McKee, Associate Director of the Center for Community Self-Help in Durham, North Carolina, has been designated chairman. Her term will run through December 1996. Julia M. Seward, Vice President and Corporate Community Reinvestment Officer for Signet Bank, Richmond, Virginia, has been designated vice chairman. Her term on the council expires December 1997.

The 9 new members are

Richard S. Amador, President and Chief Executive Officer, CHARO Community Development Corporation, Los Angeles, California;

Heriberto Flores, President and Chief Executive Officer, Brightwood Development Corporation, Springfield, Massachusetts;

This publication was digitized and made available by the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas' Historical Library (FedHistory@dal.frb.org)

For additional copies, bankers and others are encouraged to use one of the following toll-free numbers in contacting the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas: Dallas Office (800) 333-4460; El Paso Branch Intrastate (800) 592-1631, Interstate (800) 351-1012; Houston Branch Intrastate (800) 392-4162, Interstate (800) 221-0363; San Antonio Branch Intrastate (800) 292-5810.

Francine C. Justa, Executive Director, Neighborhood Housing Services, New York, New York;

Errol T. Louis, Treasurer and Manager, Central Brooklyn Federal Credit Union, Brooklyn, New York;

William N. Lund, Superintendent, Consumer Credit Protection, Augusta, Maine;

Margot Saunders, Managing Attorney, National Consumer Law Center, Washington, D.C.;

Gregory D. Squires, Professor, Department of Sociology, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, Wisconsin;

George P. Surgeon, President and Chief Executive Officer, Southern Development Bancorporation, Arkadelphia, Arkansas;

Theodore J. Wysocki, Jr., Executive Director, Chicago Association of Neighborhood Development Organizations, Chicago, Illinois.

MORE INFORMATION

For further information, please contact Gloria Brown at (214) 922-5266. For additional copies of this Bank's notice, please contact the Public Affairs Department at (214) 922-5254.

Sincerely yours,

Robert D. McTeer fr.