

AND CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF DALLAS

May 1, 1987

DALLAS, TEXAS 75222

Circular 87-32

TO: The Chief Executive Officer of all member banks, bank holding companies and others concerned in the Eleventh Federal Reserve District

SUBJECT

Foreign Assets Control

DETAILS

The Office of Foreign Assets Control of the U.S. Department of the Treasury has requested the assistance of the Federal Reserve System in informing all member banks of the prohibition under the Comprehensive Anti-Apartheid Act of 1986 ("the Act") on holding deposit bank accounts of the South African Government ("SAG") or agencies owned or controlled by the SAG, and in providing banks with a listing of such agencies.

Under Section 545.209 of the South African Transactions Regulation, 31 C.F.R. Part 545 ("the Regulations"), published in the Federal Register at 51 Fed. Reg. 46854 (December 29, 1986), a United States depository institution may not accept, receive, or hold a deposit account from the SAG or from any agency or entity owned or controlled by the SAG, except for such accounts as may be authorized pursuant to specific license for diplomatic or consular purposes.

A U.S. depository institution is defined under 31 C.F.R. Section 545.321 as a depository institution located in the United States and includes a depository institution as defined in section 19(b)(1) of the Federal Reserve Act, 12 U.S.C. 461(b)(1), but the definition does not include the foreign branches of a depository institution organized in the U.S., or the parents, subsidiaries, branches or offices located outside the U.S. of a depository institution organized under foreign law.

The Department of State has compiled a listing of agencies or entities owned or controlled by the Government of South Africa (enclosed). This listing will be revised periodically.

ENCLOSURES

The Department of State listing of agencies or entities owned or controlled by the Government of South Africa is attached.

MORE INFORMATION

For further information please contact this Bank's Legal Department at (214) 651-6228.

Sincerely yours,

William H Wallan

SOUTH AFRICAN PARASTATAL ORGANIZATIONS: Firms Owned or Controlled by the South African Government

```
Agricultural Control Boards
    Banana Board
    Canning Fruit Board
    Chicory Board
    Citrus Board
    Cotton Board
    Dairy Board
    Deciduous Fruit Board
    Dried Fruit Board
    Egg Board
    Lucerne Seed Board
    Maize Board
    Meat Board
    Mohair Board
    Oilseeds Board
    Potato, Dried Bean & Grain Sorghum Board
    Rooisbos Tea Board
    South African Karakul Board
    South West African Karakul Board (Namibia)
    Tobacco Board
    Wheat Board
    Wool Board
Agricultural Corp. of Venda
Agricultural Development Corp. of Bophuthatswana
Atlana (Pty) Ltd.
Aluminum Investment Co. (Pty) Ltd.
Aluminum Co. of South Africa (Pty) Ltd. (Alusaf)
    Alustang (Pty) Ltd.
    Richigata (Pty) Ltd.
Alzira Financial (Pty) Ltd.
Armaments Corp. of South Africa (Pty) Ltd. (Armscor)
    Atlas Aircraft Ltd.
    Eloptro (Pty) Ltd.
    Ernani Property (Pty) Ltd.
    Infloplan Ltd.
    Kentron (Pty) Ltd.
Konchem (Pty) Ltd.
    Lyttleton Engineering Works Ltd.
    Musgrove (Pty) Ltd.
    Naschem (Pty) Ltd.
    Pretoria Metal Pressings (Pty) Ltd.
    Sonchem (Pty) Ltd.
    Swartklip Products (Pty) Ltd.
Atlantis Diesel Engines (Pty) Ltd.
    ADE Behuisings (Pty) Ltd.
    Adepart (Pty) Ltd.
    Atlantis Aluminum (Pty) Ltd.
    Atlantis Foundries (Pty) Ltd.
```

Finasco (Pty) Ltd. Atomic Energy Corp. of South Africa Ltd. Bophuthatswana National Development Corp. Bophuthatswana Transport Holdings Fish Hoek Hotel (Pty) Ltd. Mankue Enterprises (Pty) Ltd. Heystekrand Furniture Factory (Pty) Ltd. T.A.B. Bophuthatswana Central Energy Fund (Pty) Ltd. Ciskei Agricultural Corp. Tainton Pineapple Estate Ciskei People's Development Bank CTC Bus Company Indwe Commercial Enterprises (Pty) Ltd. Ciskei Small Business Corp. Commission for Fresh Produce Markets Community Development Fund Corporation for Public Deposits Council for Mineral Technology (MINTEK) Council for Scientific and Industrial Research South African Inventions Development Corp. Department of Posts and Telecommunications Deposit Fund for Housing Development Bank of Southern Africa Duntex Property (Pty) Ltd. ESCOM (formerly Electricity Supply Commission) Export Finance Development Corp. First National Development Corp. of South West Africa Melkor (Pty) Ltd. Okatana Vulstasie (Pty) Ltd. Windhoek Wild (Pty) Ltd. Government Motor Transport and Trading Account Government of the Republic of South Africa Government Printing Works Guardians' Funds Hooggenoeg Marketing (Pty) Ltd. Human Sciences Research Council Industrial Development Corp. of South Africa Ltd. (IDC) Industrial Selections Konoil (Pty) Ltd. National Selections Industrial Minerals Development Co. (Pty) Ltd. International Karakul Secreteriat KaNgwane Economic Development Corp. (Pty) Ltd. Kindoc Investments (Pty) Ltd. Konbel (Pty) Ltd. KwaNdebele Development Corp. Ltd. KwaZulu Finance and Investment Corp. Ltd. Bambisanani Nongoma (Pty) Ltd. Intaba Motors Ltd.

Isithebe Malt Factory (Pty) Ltd. KwaZulu Finance (Ptv) Ltd. KwaZulu Garment Industries Ltd. KwaZulu Finance and Investment Corp. Ltd. KwaZulu Housing Company (Pty) Ltd. KwaZulu News Agency Ltd. KwaZulu Truck and Bus Ltd. Zululand Furniture Factory (Pty) Ltd. Land and Agricultural Bank of South Africa (Landbank) Land and Agricultural Bank of South West Africa Lebowa Development Corp. Ltd. Dilokong Chrome Mine (Pty) Ltd. Lebowa Transport Company Light Metals Investment Co. (Pty) Ltd. Marmain (Pty) Ltd. Mavaco (Pty) Ltd. Motor Vehicle Assurance Fund Nabucco Investments (Pty) Ltd. National Building and Investment Corp. (South West Africa) National Marketing Board National Parks Board of Trustees National Road Fund National Supplies Procurement Fund Navik (Pty) Ltd. Oostra Inmakers (Pty) Ltd. (Eastern Packers) Phosphate Development Corp. (Pty) Ltd. (Foskor) Foskem (Pty) Ltd. Palafos (Pty) Ltd. Post Office Savings Bank Public Investment Commissioners QwaQwa Agricultural Co. Ltd. QwaQwa Development Corp. Ltd. Rehoboth Finance and Development Corp. Ltd. Reinsurance Fund for Export Credit and Foreign Investment Regional Water Service Corporations Rosamond Properties (Pty) Ltd. Rustenberg Industrial Finance (Pty) Ltd. Saldok (Pty) Ltd. Sapekoe (Pty) Ltd. Sapekoe Ngome Landgoed (Pty) Ltd. Sapekoe Richmond Landgoed (Pty) Ltd. Sapekoe Sales (Pty) Ltd. Sasol Three (Pty) Ltd. Satchem (Pty) Ltd. Shangaan/Tsonga Development Corp. Ltd. Fumani Gold Mining Co. (Pty) Ltd. Small Business Development Corp. South African Abattoir Corp. South African Abattoir Commission South African Banknote Co. (Pty) Ltd.

South African Broadcasting Corp. (SABC) South African Bureau of Standards (SABS) South African Development Trust South African Development Trust Corp. Ltd. South African Gas Distribution Corp. Ltd. Union Steel Corporation of South Africa Ltd. Usco Aluminum Systems (Pty) Ltd. Usco Huiseienaars (Pty) Ltd. Usco Kabelmaatskappy (Pty) Ltd. Veldmaster (Pty) Ltd. Veldmaster Incorporated (U.S.) Urban Transport Fund Venda Development Corp. Ltd. Aidec Venda (Pty) Ltd. N.T.K. Venda (Pty) Ltd. Thusani Stone Crushers (Pty) Ltd. Venbor (Pty) Ltd. Vhavenda Brickworks (Pty) Ltd. Virema (Pty) Ltd. Water Boards (all South African Water Boards) Water Research Commission

March 19, 1987