FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF DALLAS DALLAS, TEXAS 75222

Circular No. 81-13 January 19, 1981

TO ALL MEMBER BANKS IN THE ELEVENTH FEDERAL RESERVE DISTRICT:

The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System has announced the following appointments and designations:

Chairman of the Board and Federal Reserve Agent, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

GERALD D. HINES

Houston, Texas, and formerly Deputy Chairman of this Bank. Designated Chairman of the Board and Federal Reserve Agent for the year 1981, succeeding Irving A. Mathews, Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Frost Bros., Inc., San Antonio, Texas, whose term as Chairman of the Board and Federal Reserve Agent expired December 31, 1980.

Owner, Gerald D. Hines Interests,

Director and Deputy Chairman, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

JOHN V. JAMES

Chairman of the Board, Dresser Industries, Inc., Dallas, Texas. Appointed a Class C Director for a three-year term which began January 1, 1981, succeeding Irving A. Mathews whose term as a Class C Director expired December 31, 1980. Designated Deputy Chairman of the Board for the year 1981, succeeding Gerald D. Hines.

Director of El Paso Branch

CHESTER J. KESEY

C. J. Kesey Enterprises, Pecos, Texas. Reappointed for a three-year term which began January 1, 1981.

Director of Houston Branch

PAUL N. HOWELL

Chairman and President,
Howell Corporation, Houston,
Texas. Appointed for a
three-year term which began
January 1, 1981, succeeding
Gene M. Woodfin, Chairman
of the Board and Chief Executive
Officer, Marathon Manufacturing
Company, Houston, Texas,
whose term expired December 31,
1980.

Director of San Antonio Branch

LAWRENCE L. CRUM

Professor of Banking and Finance, The University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas. Reappointed for a three-year term which began January 1, 1981.

The Board of Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas has made the following appointments:

Director of El Paso Branch

CLAUDE E. LEYENDECKER

President, Mimbres Valley Bank, Deming, New Mexico. Reappointed for a three-year term which began January 1, 1981.

Director of Houston Branch

RAYMOND L. BRITTON

Labor Arbitrator and Professor of Law, University of Houston, Houston, Texas. Reappointed for a three-year term which began January 1, 1981.

Director of San Antonio Branch

JOHN H. GARNER

President and Chief Executive Officer, Corpus Christi National Bank, Corpus Christi, Texas. Reappointed for a three-year term which began January 1, 1981.

Member of Federal Advisory Council

T. C. FROST, JR.

Chairman of the Board, Cullen/Frost Bankers, Inc., San Antonio, Texas. Appointed for the year 1981, succeeding James D. Berry, Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Republic of Texas Corporation, Dallas, Texas, whose term expired December 31, 1980.

Sincerely yours,

Smel &

Chairman of the Board

Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas Effective January 1, 1981

Name	Occupation		Elected by banks in Group	Class	Term Expires Dec. 31
Lewis H. Bond	Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Texas American Bancshares In Fort Worth, Texas	nc.,	1	A	1981
Miles D. Wilson	Chairman of the Board and Presi The First National Bank of Bel Bellville, Texas		2	A	1983
John P. Gilliam	President and Chief Executive Of First National Bank in Valley M Valley Mills, Texas		3	A	1982
Robert D. Rogers	President, Texas Industries, Inc., Dallas, Texas		1	В	1982
J. Wayland Bennett	Charles C. Thompson Professor of Agricultural Finance and Associate Dean, College of Agricultural Sciences, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas		2	В	1981
Kent Gilbreath	Professor of Economics, Department of Economics and Finance, Baylor University, Waco, Texas		3	В	1983
Gerald D. Hines	Owner, Gerald D. Hines Interests, Houston, Texas	Appointed by the Board of Govern of the Federal Reserve System	nors	С	1981
John V. James Deputy Chairman	Chairman of the Board, Dresser Industries, Inc., Dallas, Texas	Appointed by the Board of Govern of the Federal Reserve System	nors	С	1983
Margaret S. Wilson	Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Scarbroughs Stores, Austin, Texas	Appointed by the Board of Govern of the Federal Reserve System	nors	С	1982