FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF DALLAS DALLAS, TEXAS 75222

Circular No. 79-112 June 28, 1979

OF THE CONSUMER ADVISORY COUNCIL

TO ALL BANKS
AND OTHERS CONCERNED IN THE
ELEVENTH FEDERAL RESERVE DISTRICT:

The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System announced on June 19, 1979, It is seeking public nominations of qualified individuals for appointment to its Consumer Advisory Council. The Consumer Advisory Council was established by Congress in 1976, at the suggestion of the Board, to advise the Board on the exercise of its duties under the Consumer Credit Protection Act and on other consumer-related matters. The Board, therefore, is especially interested in candidates who are familiar with issues in the area of consumer credit. The Council is presently made up of 27 members with a wide range of experience in the area of consumer credit.

The Council meets four times a year for approximately a day and a half to advise the Board on its responsibilities regarding consumer credit legislation and regulation. Council members who are not Federal employees are paid \$100 for each day spent attending and traveling to and from meetings. In addition, such members may be reimbursed for travel expenses associated with meetings.

Printed on the following pages is a copy of the Board's announcement which lists the names, affiliations, and terms of office of current Council members.

Nominations should be submitted in writing to Ms. Anne Geary, Assistant Director, Division of Consumer Affairs, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, Washington, D.C. 20551, and should be received no later than August 6, 1979. The nominee's name, address and phone number should be included, along with past and present positions held, and special knowledge, interests or experience relating to consumer matters.

Sincerely yours,

Ernest T. Baughman

President

FEDERAL RESERVE SYSTEM

CONSUMER ADVISORY COUNCIL

Solicitation of Nominations for Members of Consumer Advisory Council

The Board of Governors is seeking from the public nominations of qualified individuals for appointment to its Consumer Advisory Council. The Consumer Advisory Council was established by Congress in 1976, at the suggestion of the Board, to advise the Board on the exercise of its duties under the Consumer Credit Protection Act and on other consumer-related matters. The Board, therefore, is especially interested in candidates who are familiar with issues in the area of consumer credit. The Council should represent the interests of both creditors and consumers.

Generally, the Council meets four times a year for approximately a day and a half. Council members who are not federal employees will be paid \$100 for each day spent attending and traveling to and from meetings. In addition, such members may be reimbursed for travel expenses associated with meetings. Listed below are the names, affiliations, and terms of office of current Council members:

Chairman

William D. Warren
Dean
U.C.L.A. School of Law
Los Angeles, California
December 31, 1980

Vice Chairman

Marcia A. Hakala Assistant to the Dean School of Fine Arts University of Nebraska at Omaha Omaha, Nebraska December 31, 1980 Roland E. Brandel Partner Morrison & Foerster San Francisco, California December 31, 1980

James L. Brown
Director
Center for Consumer Affairs
University of Wisconsin Extension
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
December 31, 1981

Mark E. Budnitz Associate Professor Emory University School of Law Atlanta, Georgia December 31, 1981 John G. Bull
President and Chief
Executive Officer
National Bancard Corporation
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
December 31, 1979

Robert V. Bullock Assistant Deputy Attorney General Consumer Protection Commonwealth of Kentucky Frankfort, Kentucky December 31, 1980

Carl Felsenfeld Vice President Citibank, N.A. New York, New York December 31, 1979

Jean A. Fox
Member of the Board
Pennsylvania Citizens Consumer
Council
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
December 31, 1979

Richard H. Holton
Professor of Business
Administration
University of California
Berkeley, California
December 31, 1979

Edna DeCoursey Johnson Executive Director Northwest Baltimore Corporation Baltimore, Maryland December 31, 1979

Richard F. Kerr Operating Vice President Federated Department Stores Cincinnati, Ohio December 31, 1981

Robert J. Klein Senior Editor Money Magazine New York, New York December 31, 1980 Harvey M. Kuhnley
President and Chief Executive Officer
Twin City Federal Savings &
Loan Association
Minneapolis, Minnesota
December 31, 1981

Percy W. Loy President Kubla Kahn Food Company Portland, Oregon December 31, 1979

R. C. Morgan
President
Government Employees Credit
Unionof El Paso
El Paso, Texas
December 31, 1980

Florence M. Rice President Harlem Consumer Education Council New York, New York December 31, 1981

Ralph J. Rohner Professor Catholic University Law School Washington, D.C. December 31, 1981

Raymond J. Saulnier
Professor (Emeritus) of Economics
Barnard College
Columbia University
New York, New York
December 31, 1979

Henry B. Schechter Director of Urban Affairs AFL-CIO Washington, D.C. December 31, 1981

E. G. Schuhart
Farmer and Rancher
Dalhart, Texas
December 31, 1980

Blair C. Shick Senior Consultant Arthur D. Little, Inc. Cambridge, Massachusetts December 31, 1979

Thomas R. Swan
Vice President, Secretary,
and Clerk
Maine Savings Bank
Portland, Maine
December 31, 1979

Anne Gary Taylor Retired President Sweet Briar College Alexandria, Virginia December 31, 1979

Richard A. Van Winkle President Lockhart Finance Company Salt Lake City, Utah December 31, 1981 Richard D. Wagner President Wagner Ford Sales, Inc. Simsbury, Connecticut December 31, 1980

Mary W. Walker President National Bank of Walton County Monroe, Georgia December 31, 1981

Chairman Emeritus

Leonor K. Sullivan St. Louis, Missouri December 31, 1980

Suggestions should be submitted in writing to Ms. Anne Geary, Assistant Director, Division of Consumer Affairs, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, Washington, D.C. 20551, and should be received not later than August 6, 1979. Nominations should include the name, address and phone number of the nominee, past and present positions held, and special knowledge, interests, or experience relating to consumer matters. Such information will be made available for inspection and copying upon request, except as provided in § 261.6(a) of the Board's Rules Regarding Availability of Information.

By order of the Board of Governors, June 19, 1979.

(Signed Theodore E. Allison)

Theodore E. Allison Secretary of the Board

[SEAL]