FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF DALLAS DALLAS, TEXAS 75222

Circular No. 78-1 January 4, 1978

TO ALL MEMBER BANKS
IN THE ELEVENTH FEDERAL RESERVE DISTRICT:

The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System has announced the following appointments and designations:

Chairman of the Board and Federal Reserve Agent, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

IRVING A. MATHEWS

Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Frost Bros., Inc., San Antonio, Texas. Reappointed a Class C Director for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1978. Redesignated Chairman of the Board and Federal Reserve Agent for the year 1978.

Deputy Chairman, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

CHARLES T. BEAIRD

Publisher, Shreveport Journal, Shreveport, Louisiana. Redesignated Deputy Chairman of the Board for the year 1978.

Director of El Paso Branch

CHESTER J. KESEY

Partner, Kesey Brothers Enterprises, Pecos, Texas. Appointed for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1978, succeeding Gage Holland, Owner, Gage Holland Ranch, Alpine, Texas, whose term expired December 31, 1977. Director of Houston Branch

GENE M. WOODFIN

Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Marathon Manufacturing Company, Houston, Texas. Reappointed for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1978.

Director of San Antonio Branch

JOHN J. McKETTA, JR.

E. P. Schoch Professor of Chemical Engineering, The University of Texas, Austin, Texas. Appointed for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1978, succeeding Marshall Boykin III, Senior Partner, Wood, Boykin & Wolter, Lawyers, Corpus Christi, Texas, whose term expired December 31, 1977.

The Board of Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas has made the following appointments:

Director of El Paso Branch

CLAUDE E. LEYENDECKER

President, Mimbres Valley Bank, Deming, New Mexico. Appointed for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1978, succeeding Wayne Stewart, President, First National Bank in Alamogordo, Alamogordo, New Mexico, whose term expired December 31, 1977.

Director of Houston Branch

J. EARL WILLIAMS

Director, Institute of Labor and Industrial Relations, University of Houston, Houston, Texas. Appointed for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1978, succeeding Seth W. Dorbandt, Chairman of the Board, First National Bank in Conroe, Conroe, Texas, whose term expired December 31, 1977.

Director of San Antonio Branch

JOHN H. GARNER

President and Chief Executive Officer, Corpus Christi National Bank, Corpus Christi, Texas. Appointed for a threeyear term beginning January 1, 1978, succeeding Leon Stone, President, The Austin National Bank, Austin, Texas, whose term expired December 31, 1977. Member of Federal Advisory Council

JAMES D. BERRY

Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Republic of Texas Corporation, Dallas, Texas. Appointed for the year 1978, succeeding Ben F. Love, Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Texas Commerce Bank, National Association, Houston, Texas, whose term expired December 31, 1977.

Sincerely yours,

turing Mathews
Chairman of the Board

Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

Effective January 1, 1978

Nome	Occupation		Elected by banks in Group	Class	Term Expires Dec. 31
Robert H. Stewart, III	Chairman of the Board, First International Bancshares, Inc., Dallas, Texas		1	A	1978
Frank Junell	Chairman of the Board, The Central National Bank of San Angelo, San Angelo, Texas		2	A	1980
Gene D. Adams	President, The First National Bank of Seymour, Seymour, Texas		3	A	1979
Stewart Orton	President, Foley's, Division of Federated Department Stores, Inc., Houston, Texas		1	В	1979
Thomas W. Herrick	Cattle and Investments, Amarillo, Texas		2	В	1978
Gerald D. Hines	Owner, Gerald D. Hines Interests, Houston, Texas		3	В	1980
Irving A. Mathews	Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Frost Bros., Inc., San Antonio, Texas	Appointed by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System		C	1980
Charles T. Beaird	Publisher, Shreveport Journal, Shreveport, Louisiana	Appointed by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System		С	1978
Margaret S. Wilson	Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Scarbroughs Stores, Austin, Texas	Appointed by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System		С	1979