FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF DALLAS DALLAS, TEXAS 75222

Circular No. 70-315 December 28, 1970

To All Member Banks

in the Eleventh Federal Reserve District:

The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System has announced the following appointments and designations:

Chairman of the Board and Federal Reserve Agent, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

Chas. F. Jones

Vice Chairman of the Board, Humble Oil & Refining Company, Houston, Texas. Designated Chairman of the Board and Federal Reserve Agent for the year 1971, succeeding Carl J. Thomsen, Senior Vice President, Texas Instruments Incorporated, Dallas, Texas, whose term expires December 31, 1970.

Deputy Chairman, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

Philip G. Hoffman

President, University of Houston, Houston, Texas. Designated Deputy Chairman of the Board for the year 1971, succeeding Chas. F. Jones.

Director,
Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

John Lawrence

Chairman of the Board and Chairman of the Executive Committee, Dresser Industries, Inc., Dallas, Texas. Appointed a Class C director for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1971, succeeding Carl J. Thomsen.

Director of El Paso Branch

Herbert M. Schwartz

President, Popular Dry Goods Company, Inc., El Paso, Texas. Appointed for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1971, succeeding Gordon W. Foster, Vice President and Director, Farah Manufacturing Company, El Paso, Texas, whose term expires December 31, 1970.

Director of Houston Branch

M. Steele Wright, Jr.

Chairman of the Board, Texas Farm Products Company, Nacogdoches, Texas. Reappointed for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1971.

Director of San Antonio Branch

Irving A. Mathews

President, Frost Bros., Inc., San Antonio, Texas. Appointed for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1971, succeeding Lloyd M. Knowlton, General Manager and Partner, Knowlton's Creamery, San Antonio, Texas, whose term expires December 31, 1970.

The Board of Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas has made the following appointments:

Director of El Paso Branch

C. J. Kelly

President, The First National Bank of Midland, Midland, Texas. Reappointed for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1971.

Director of Houston Branch

Kline McGee

Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Southern National Bank of Houston, Houston, Texas. Appointed for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1971, succeeding A. G. McNeese, Jr., Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Bank of the Southwest National Association, Houston, Houston, Texas, whose term expires December 31, 1970.

Director of San Antonio Branch

Ray M. Keck, Jr.

President, Union National Bank of Laredo, Laredo, Texas. Reappointed for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1971.

Member of Federal Advisory Council

John E. Gray

Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, First Security National Bank of Beaumont, Beaumont, Texas. Reappointed for the year 1971.

Very truly yours,

Chairman of the Board

Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas Effective January 1, 1971

					,
Name	Occupation		Elected by banks in Group	Class	Term Expires Dec. 31
Murray Kyger	Chairman of the Board, The First National Bank of Fort Worth, Fort Worth, Texas		1	A	1972
A. W. Riter, Jr	President, The Peoples National Bank of Tyler, Tyler, Texas		2	A	1971
J. V. Kelly	President, The Peoples National Bank of Belton, Belton, Texas		3	A	1973
Carl D. Newton	Chairman of the Board, Fox-Stanley Photo Products, Inc., San Antonio, Texas		1	В	1973
C. A. Tatum, Jr	President and Chief Executive Officer, Texas Utilities Company, Dallas, Texas		2	В	1972
Hugh F. Steen	President, El Paso Natural Gas Company, El Paso, Texas		3	В	1971
Chas. F. Jones	Vice Chairman of the Board, Humble Oil & Refining Company, Houston, Texas	Board of Governors of the		С	1971
Philip G. Hoffman Deputy Chairman	President, University of Houston, Houston, Texas	Appointed by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System		С	1972
John Lawrence	Chairman of the Board and Chairman of the Executive Committee, Dresser Industries, Inc., Dallas, Texas	Appointed by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System		С	1973