Minutes of the Financial Stability Oversight Council

Held September 15, 2011

PRESENT:

Timothy F. Geithner, Secretary of the Treasury and Chairperson of the Financial Stability
Oversight Council
Ben Bernanke, Chairman, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System (Federal Reserve)
Martin J. Gruenberg, Acting Chairperson, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)
Mary Schapiro, Chairman, Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)
Gary Gensler, Chairman, Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC)
Edward DeMarco, Acting Director, Federal Housing Finance Agency (FHFA)
Debbie Matz, Chairman, National Credit Union Administration (NCUA)
John Walsh, Acting Comptroller of the Currency (OCC)
William Haraf, Commissioner, California Department of Financial Institutions (non-voting
member)
John Huff, Director, Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions, and Professional
Registration (non-voting member)
David Massey, Deputy Securities Administrator, North Carolina Department of the Secretary of
State, Securities Division (non-voting member)
Michael McRaith, Director, Federal Insurance Office, Department of the Treasury (non-voting
member)
GUESTS:
Department of the Treasury

Neal S. Wolin, Deputy Secretary of the Treasury

Lael Brainard, Under Secretary of the Treasury for International Affairs

Mary J. Miller, Assistant Secretary for Financial Markets

Amias Gerety, Deputy Assistant Secretary for FSOC

Laurie Schaffer, Assistant General Counsel, Banking and Finance, Treasury

Sara Aviel, Senior Advisor to the Secretary of the Treasury

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System Janet Yellen, Vice Chair

<u>Commodity Futures Trading Commission</u> Timothy Karpoff, Counsel to the Chairman

<u>Comptroller of the Currency</u> Mike Brosnan, Senior Deputy Comptroller for Large Bank Supervision

<u>Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation</u> Jason Cave, Deputy Director for Monitoring, Office of Complex Financial Institutions

<u>Federal Housing Finance Agency</u> Mario Ugoletti, Special Advisor to the Director National Credit Union Administration David Marquis, Executive Director

<u>Securities and Exchange Commission</u> Jennifer McHugh, Senior Advisor to the Chairman

<u>Federal Reserve Bank of New York</u> William Dudley, President and Chief Executive Officer

<u>Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions, and Professional Registration</u> Mark Sagat, Government Relations Policy Counsel, National Association of Insurance Commissioners

<u>California Department of Financial Institutions</u> Michael Stevens, Senior Vice President & Director of Regulatory Affairs, Conference of State Bank Supervisors

North Carolina Department of the Secretary of the State, Securities Division Joseph Brady, General Counsel, North American Securities Administrators Association

Executive Session

The Chairperson called the executive session of the meeting of the Financial Stability Oversight Council (Council) to order at 1:05 p.m. (EDT).

The Council convened by teleconference to discuss market developments in light of increased market volatility and European market developments. Members of the Council provided updates on market functioning, particularly with respect to financial markets and entities within their respective jurisdictions. Secretary Geithner stated that Council members should stay in close communication in the coming days.

No votes were taken during the meeting.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at approximately 1:25 p.m. (EDT).