by

Woodlief Thomas

PARIS

Office of United States Treasury Representative (also Financial Adviser to ECA Special Mission to France)

William M. Tomlinson-U. S. Treasury Representative and Financial Adviser to ECA Special Mission to France
Ralph C. Wood-Chief, Trade Division, ECA Special Mission to France
Donald J. McGrew-Assistant U. S. Treasury Representative
Edward A. Dow-Second Secretary of Embassy

Economic Cooperation Administration-Office of U. S. Special Representative in Europe

Ambassador W. Averill Harriman-Special Representative
Ambassador William C. Foster-Deputy Special Representative
Milton Katz-Acting Director, Program Review and Recovery Division
Shaw Livermore-Deputy Director, Program Review and Recovery Division
Arthur Marget-Director, Finance Division
Henry Tasca-Director, Trade and Payments Division
George Blowers-Deputy Director, Trade and Payments Division
Ben H. Thibodeaux-Director, Food and Agriculture Division

ECA Special Mission to France

B. E. Lane Timmons-Special Assistant to Chief of Mission

Organization for European Economic Cooperation

Robert Marjolin-Secretary General Frank Figgures-Director, Balance of Payments Division Eric Roll-U. K. Delegate to OEEC

International Monetary Fund, Paris Representative

Robert Triffin

Banque de France

Wilfrid Baumgartner, Governor
Jean Saltes-Deputy Governor
Felix Le Norcy-Economic Adviser to the Governor
Mr. Koszul-Director, Service Bancaire Etranger
Mr. Stockreiser-Assistant to Mr. Koszul

Commissariat General du Plan

Mr. Hirsch-Chief, Technical Division Pierre Uri-Economic Adviser

Other French officials

Pierre Mendes-France-Deputy, Member of Finance Committee of National Assembly Guillaume Guindey-Director of External Finance, Ministry of Finance Pierre P. Schweitzer-Secretary General of the Interministerial Committee for Questions of European Economic Cooperation Professor Charles Rist-Director of Ottoman Bank

SWITZERLAND

Geneva

Economic Commission for Europe

Professor Gustav Myrdal

Mr. Walter Rostow

Mr. Nicholas Kaldor, Director, Research and Planning Division

Mr. Hans Staehle, Research and Planning Division

Mr. Hal B. Lary, Research and Planning Division

Mr. B. Mitelius, Research and Planning Division

Mr. Rallman, Steel Division

Mr. Paul R. Porter, American Delegate to ECE

Zurich

Swiss National Bank

Mr. Alfred Hirs, Director

Mr. Ackerman, Economist

Credit Suisse

Dr. Reinhardt

Dr. Bader

Others

Mr. Hoch - Swiss Bank Verein

Mr. Baer - Baer & Company

Bern

Mr. John Carter Vincent, U. S. Minister

Mr. Walter W. Ostrow, U. S. Treasury Representative

Mr. Paul Rossy, Vice President, Swiss National Bank

Mr. Ernest Nobs, President of the Council of Switzerland and Minister of Finance and Custom

Dr. Max Ikle, Ministry of Finance

Basle

Bank for International Settlements

Mr. Roger Auboin, General Manager

Dr. Per Jacobssen

Others

Governor C. V. Bramsnaes, Denmark National Bank Governor Klas Book, Swedish Riksbank Sir Frederick Leith-Ross, National Bank of Egypt Governor Gunnar Jahn, Norges Bank

ITALY

Bank of Italy

Donato Menichella, Governor Paolo Baffi, Chief of Research

Office of U. S. Treasury Representative and ECA

Andrew M. Kamarck, U. S. Treasury Attache James D. Zellerbach, Chief of ECA Mission to Italy Mr. Dayton, Deputy Chief of ECA Mission

Government

President Einaudi

Mr. Pella, Minister of the Budget, Treasury, and Economic Planning under ERP

Mr. Malvestiti, Under Secretary of Treasury

Mr. Vanoni, Minister of Finance

Senator Paretore, Chairman of Committee on Finance and Treasury, the Senate

Banks

Mr. Rossi, Director, Banca Commerciale Italiano, Milan

Mr. Pizzoni

Mr. Bresciani-Turroni, Banco di Roma, Milan

GERMANY

Bank Deutscher Laender

Wilhelm Vocke, President

Mr. Bernard, Chairman of Board

Mr. Wolf, Economist

Allied Banking Commission

Shepard Morgan, U. S. Member J. Fisher Freeman, Deputy U. S. Member Henry Conrad, Central Bank group Edward Boorstein Mr. McDonald, U. K. Deputy Member

Reconstruction Loan Corporation

Director Herman Abs

Bipartite Control Office

Dr. Karl Bode Dr. Paul Hermburg

Mr. Frank Wright

Others

Mr. Fritz Kempner, Deputy, JEIA Dr. Veidt, President, Hesse Land Central Bank

BELGIUM

Robert M. Hanes, Chief of ECA Mission James E. Wood, U. S. Treasury Representative

National Bank of Belgium

Governor Maurice Frere
M. De Voghel, Director of Economic Studies
M. Ansiaux, Director of Foreign Department

Bank of Brussels

M. Soessman, Director M. Bastini, Director M. Salmon, Economist

NETHERLANDS

Netherlands ECA unit

Dr. Ernst Van der Beugel

ECA Mission

Mr. Alan Valentine, Chief of Mission

Mr. Victor Longstreet

Mr. Weir Brown, Treasury Representative with ECA Mission

Netherlands Bank

Dr. M. W. Holtrop, President

Dr. A. M. de Jong, Director-Secretary

Mr. Posthuma, Director

Mr. Reppelius, Deputy Director

Ministry of Finance

Mr. Koster, Treasurer General

Mr. De Block

Planning Commission

Mr. Tinbergen

Mr. Ecker

Netherlands Trading Society

Baron d'Escurry, President S. D. Binnerts, Secretary

Herstel Bank

Mr. Posthuma, President

Mr. Geeperkom, Secretary

Mr. Sanders, Member of Board

ENGLAND

Mr. Julius Holmes, Minister

Don Bliss, Economic Counselor

Mr. Sigbert, Acting ECA Administrator

Office of U. S. Treasury Representative

William L. Hebbard, U. S. Treasury Representative Charles Harley

Bank of England

Governor Cameron F. Cobbold

George Bolton, Director

Humphrey Mynors, Director

A. P. Grafftey-Smith, Overseas and Foreign Office

Malcolm Parker, Overseas and Foreign Office

Mr. Beal, Chief Cashier

Dan Jones, Balance of Payments Office

Mr. Thompson-McCausland, Adviser

Mr. Powell, Adviser

Mr. Hallan, U.K.-U.S.A.

ENGLAND (Continued)

British Treasury

Mr. Eddie Playfair

London Economist

Geoffrey Crowther

Union Corporation Limited

Ernest H. Stern Col. Temperley

Others

Wilfred Crick, Midland Bank
Thomas Balogh, Oxford University
R. S. Sayers, London School of Economics and Political Science
Carl W. Hayden, Vice President, National City Bank of New York